For the first time in its history, Rio Tuba Nickel Mining Corporation (RTNMC) was declared top taxpayer in company category for the year 2017 in Palawan.

For the first time in its history, Rio Tuba Nickel Mining Corporation (RTNMC) was declared top taxpayer in company category for the year 2017 in Palawan.

RTNMC paid P13,936,017 in Real Property Tax for 2017, an increase of more than 35 percent versus its previous year’s Real Property Tax amounting to P 8,983,012.40.

Through the local government unit of Bataraza, the provincial government of Palawan congratulated and gratified the company for genuinely following regulatory requirements and paying Real Property Taxes.

In a communication letter dated June 14, 2018, they likewise extended their greetings to RTNMC for bagging the prestigious award.

RTNMC received the said award during the Gabi ng Parangal--Governor’s Award as part of Baragatan sa Palawan Festival 2018 Celebration.

The awarding was held on June 20 at the Victoriano Rodriguez (VJR) Hall Building in Provincial Capitol and was attended by numerous representatives of different highly reputable companies, municipal treasurers and other personalities.

Reynaldo “Bong” Dela Rosa, Community Relations Manager of RTNMC received the award in behalf of the company.

Several companies also won the Top Five Outstanding Taxpayers in Company Category that include Seven Seas Resort and Leisures Corporation in Cuyo,Calamian Island Power Corporation,Ten Knots Development Corporation and Ten Knots Philippines Incorporated.

Most of these companies have been the major contributors of economic growth and catapults Palawan at the top when it comes to its development while some are making their breakthroughs as contributory to its growth.

Not only those companies who have shown remarkable efforts in providing and contributing their taxes but also some Municipal Treasurers were also hailed as Top Five Outstanding Municipal Treasurer for the year 2017.

They include Maxima Ardona of El Nido, Carlyn Bolos of Magsaysay, Wilma Lopot of Sofrono Espanola lands, Elsa Fedrez of Roxas and Luzviminda Palay of Taytay.

Some individuals of Palawan were also winners and were given recognition and appreciation: Orely Ong of Coron, Edu Flisi, Bethel Marianna, Lus Chua of El Nido, Erlinda and Jose Jovellanos of Coron.

The Outstanding Taxpayers Award is being given annually to companies, municipal treasurers and individuals who reported and paid Real Property Taxes religiously.

The award has been running for almost a decade as mandated by Provincial Resolution No. 8855-2011 of the Sangguniang Panlalawigan authored by Former Provincial Board Member Ernesto Llacuna and approved on February 15, 2011.

The resolution aims to give appreciation and recognition to corporations and individuals for their support and commitment to the local government units by paying the correct taxes on time.

Numerous organizations, individuals, entrepreneurs and government partners were also given recognition for its exemplary contributions to Palawan in several fields of expertise such as arts and culture, public service and governance, academe, sports, agriculture, healthcare, business, environmental protection, law and social justice, women and youth development and tourism.

Meanwhile, Rio Tuba Nickel Mining Corporation made its trailblazing triumph not just in its success in progressive mine rehabilitation program and social development programs but also in its adherence to governmental regulations and other mandatories.

Aside from the Real Property Tax, RTNMC has also been paying national and other local taxes.

Over the course of its operation, it is the first time ever that RTNMC had topped the search for the No. 1 Highest Real Property Tax Payer in Palawan as they had landed on the third spot in 2016 and second in 2015.


Top Taxpayers’ Award for 2017 is RTNMC’s second biggest achievement for

this year as they were also hailed as ASEAN’s Best in Sustainable

Mineral Development.

Share this article